Overloaded with Details

Apps are great. I work for a company, Volatix, that has created a pretty awesome one for energy companies. It allows a company’s workforce, no matter what sector of energy they are in: utility, oil and gas, transportation, etc to access all of their company data on mobile devices for trades, workflow approvals, field data entry, really anything you could possibly ever need in energy. It’s pretty amazing, and a great way to utilize mobile in a highly mobile day and age.

enterprise71586ba812dd64e8b456ff00009984aa.png

Honestly, I don’t see how any company in 2017 is NOT looking for a mobile solution. The workplace has changed. Today more people work remotely than ever before, and it is enterprise apps like Power Markets that will soon be the preferred way to access and manage company data and day to day operations.

So that got me thinking about the different metrics we all “track and manage” through technology in our time off the clock.

I love my job, and I 100% understand the need for being plugged in within the workplace. I will also be the first to tell you that I am not the most “plugged in” when it comes to my personal life. I am fortunate that now when I leave the office at 5 p.m. I do not have to constantly check emails and continue working once I am home. I know not everyone is able to do that.

vegging_out_by_salamanderle-d4kojbh.png

That being the case, around 90% of my time spent at home I have no idea where my phone is. I don’t own a tablet and I haven’t used my laptop since college, and I am perfectly content. If I am using my phone, I am probably snap-chatting the dogs or posting something to Instagram, but I don’t sit on the couch and stare at it like my life depended on it. Maybe it’s because I am not a great multitask-er when it comes to technology. I can’t read articles, watch TV and carry on a conversation all at the same time. I prefer tackling one thing at a time.

steph_29.jpg

The average American (in my opinion) have become so fixated on the metrics the end result trumps the journey. Apps exists for anything and everything you can think of: dieting, working out, monthly visitors, news, habit list, gratitude journaling, sleeping, home improvement, worrying, you name it, and there’s a app for it. We love to track things.

0d4d8618868379b278cf4448170f8638.png

A couple of weeks ago I was visiting my sister. We ran into the grocery store to pick up a few snacks and I decided that I would make some pimento cheese. We must have toggled back and forth between the (what seemed like) 40 different areas where dairy products were housed, and  I joked that it was ok because we were “getting our steps in”. Neither of us have fit bits. The phrase has just become such a commonly used way to say “getting exercise” that it is now used almost interchangeably, at least in my circles.

16396652f841afe7041f792b4522c133.jpg

We count steps, calories, hours of sleep, times we wake up, how many worries we have, how much water we drink, our mood, our activities. Why? I don’t knwo how many of you are familiar with the saying “pics or it didn’t happen”, but I think that has spread across every part of our modern, tech driven life. We are a generation of skeptics and over sharers. It is hard to tell which one drives the other in the vicious cycle of: do, document, post, review, repeat. We need proof because we are used to having it without asking for it.

fitbit.png

Touching back on a notion from the “Digital Details” post a few weeks back, how could I have eaten a donut and gone on a run and grabbed lunch with a friend if I don’t post it? We care less about what we think about our selves and exponentially more about how others perceive us. To a degree, I think it’s normal to want to be liked, but it is abnormal to put all of your self-worth into  being “liked”or “shared”.

102915298-GettyImages-474929666.530x298.jpg

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

