Multi Level Details

*Disclaimer: this is not an open invitation to flood my inbox with products*

Most of us have at some point been approached by a friend or acquaintance with a “great opportunity”. Sometimes it’s a one and done thing, they ask you say no thank you and they go on their way. Other times, they ask, you decline, they ask more aggressively, things get awkward, you swear off any and all products and advances of the sort in the future. What am I talking about? Three words that millennials know all too well: multi level marketing.

75258f71ed5ec11e6f2e1b20cdecdc40ff7493f04659b7704aac1040442e7a7a.jpg

Tale as old as time: this the the best, most natural, most effective life changing product that you NEED to both take and sell. Bonus, you can be RICH and THIN and you won’t even have to sell it or exercise if you don’t want to! Just sign up 20 of your friends to be on your team, and the more they buy the more money you will make. Before you know you will be able to quit your job and win a NEW CAR…

shaklee-integrated-wellness-program-27-638.jpg

When I was growing up it was: Melaleuca, Shaklee, Mary Kay, Avon, Metabolife. Some of them were ok products, even if those koala bear vitamins (Melaleuca) tasted like pure garbage, others were straight-up pyramid schemes (Metobolife). MLM has been around and around and now it’s back, with the internet behind it.

41kVL8n+uVL._SY355_.jpg4da0b7b71b18daa74d6784c05004bddd.jpgmetabolife-product-image-1.jpg

Mary-Kay-Into-The-Garden-7-1024x701.jpg734dc119619ee6d68943b2dbba4ab9f3.jpglogo-avon.jpg

In recent years, social media has given MLM new life. In the years since I graduated from college, my newsfeed has filled it up with protein shakes and miracle creams and before and after photos… sort of like an election year except the people are in better shape and way younger.

j15.png

In general the possibility of making $10,000 a month from selling _______ products is not a likely scenario for most, definitely not me because in my free time I enjoy writing this rant blog, eating pizza and occasionally working out. But for some, these at home businesses are a life saver, and the people running them are natural sales people.

work-from-home-like-a-boss-506x460.jpg

That being said, about a week ago, I ran across something that changed the way I thought about buying MLM products. I was Facebook creeping and I read a post that went something like this:

“If you have a friend who opens a restaurant, you’ll probably eat there. If you have a friend who owns a boutique, you’ll probably shop there. If you have a friend who works in finance, you might give them a shot at managing yours.”

All of these things: food, clothing, financial management are things that you spend money on anyway…

new-duh-gif-222.gif

I have a few friends, like most of you probably do who sell Rodan + Fields, Younique, Lipsense, Isagenix, etc. While I am not personally interested in SELLING these products, if I am going to buy: skin care, make up, cleanse packets, why wouldn’t I give something a try that is already vetted by someone I trust?

aarg001-web.jpg8a5b194b5d1c7153959b5e67ff4afbc6.jpgbasiclipcollectionlarge.jpg

{B9C25177-463A-40B1-8D68-2F2A708BDA26}.png

Most of the time when I go to buy something, I already have asked for a recommendation from a friend. If we are being realistic, Sally Salesperson at __________ (fill in your go-to department store make up/ beauty counter) is driven mainly by commissions, and if she sells me foundation that breaks my face out and makes my look like a ghost, it’s no skin off her teeth. Don’t get me wrong, I have a few things that I am just not willing to give up, but there are also a lot of things I want to try, and a little honest guidance isn’t the worst thing to receive.

tenor.gif

video.yahoomovies.com@2b6788af-3f1e-3239-869a-f01bc7bd2b4a_FULL.jpg

I’m not saying to ONLY buy things from you friends or that EVERYTHING your friends try to sell you is going to be great, but they’re your friends, and not giving someone you trust a shot to sell you something you need just because they’re your friend seems counter intuitive to me.

enhanced-32005-1422840611-40.jpg

*steps down off of soap box*

Leave a Reply

