Non-Digital Details

Recently my husband went to the Masters with a few friends. He has always wanted to go, so when the opportunity presented itself, he was thrilled. My best friend’s parents have gone for years and say there is just nothing quite like being in Augusta for the Masters.I have never really followed golf, but even I know that “cell phones, beepers and other electronic devices are strictly prohibited on the course”.

image010.jpg

In a world so addicted to technology, this rule might seem ridiculous, but  those who have been will argue, attending a Masters is worth not checking your texts or emails until the evening, FOMO aside.

271395335.jpg

Practically speaking, it would be tragic to be a golfer lined up for a VERY important putt only to have their focus broken by a ringing phone, text alert or app notification, but I would venture to guess that keeping the events historical integrity is equally important.

25-no-cell-phone-use-sign-free-cliparts-that-you-can-download-to-you-5ube2M-clipart.jpeg

Kevin Kaduk of Yahoo! Sports Big League Stew shared, “I love The Masters because Augusta National never changes. And I don’t mean that in the sense that the food and souvenir prices are still ridiculously low… I mean it in the sense that Augusta National is the only course that this casual golf fan knows, despite never having stepped foot on the course.”

augusta-national-clubhouse-the-masters.jpg

The Masters is like the Disney Land of golf only Walt never left. Patrons are transported back in time to a place where it is ok just to spend the day walking the course, taking in the scenery and reveling in the fact that they are not “on call”. The Masters is one American tradition untouched by personal technology.

waltdisney_disneyland.jpg

The act of unplugging can be freeing to those who venture to embrace it. Last week I received a call from a number I did not recognize but the location came up as Augusta, GA, so I answered it. My husband was shocked as I am notorious for screening calls from unknown numbers. I answered on a hunch that I would know the voice on the other other line, and my gamble paid off. Before I hung up, I asked him if it was nice to just get to take in the experience without feeling the need to send snaps, post to Instagram and check texts, etc. He said that it was, but that he kept checking his pockets fearing that his phone had slipped out, and that’s when it occurred to me. We all have the ability to unplug, but we can’t remove the fact that we are now hardwired to our need for technology.

naked-smart-phone-addiction-dependency-confession-ecards-someecards-300x167.png

Leave a Reply

